These enjoyable evening cocktail parties will take place closest to the full moon during the months of January to June this year. Gates open at 5:30pm. A lowering of the flag ceremony takes place at sunset. Cocktails, refreshments and music are provided. Enjoy spectacular panoramic views and admire the beautiful full moon.
Donations: Barbados National Trust Members BB$30; BARP Members BB$35 and General Admission BB$40.
Gun Hill Signal Station is located on a rural hilltop in the parish of St. George and arguably offers some of the best views of the island. The Signal Station was built in 1818 and houses a fascinating collection of military memorabilia. The strategically placed tower is one of a chain of six signal stations used island-wide by the British in the early 1800s to carry news across the island to other stations using flags and lantern codes. Situated on the hill below the station is the famous stone lion, carved from coral-stone in 1868 by Captain Henry Wilkinson, assisted by four military labourers. This historic site is now under the stewardship of the Barbados National Trust after being restored from ruins in 1983.
For further details call the Barbados National Trust at (246) 426-2421.
You can also visit their website for general information at: www.barbadosnationaltrust.org